How I toasted Frank Palmer’s ass

14 Jun

Speaking in front of a large group of people can be unnerving at the best of times. But when you have a veteran Toastmasters’s instructor in the room, your self-consciousness can leave you brainless.toastSliceWhiteBkgd

I had to make numerous presentations at the T-CAAN conference in Ottawa last week and one of the attendees was Brian Stecyk from Rose Country Advertising and PR in Edmonton, the aforementioned Toastmaster’s guy. He was counting the number of times we said “um” during our numerous presentations.

Frank Palmer of DDB, the easiest and most confident speaker you will ever hear, hit a whopping 140 “ums” and won a rubber chicken, which Stecyk threw at him. I fumbled it out a mere 13 times and therefore, technically, kicked Frank’s ass.

Problem is I can’t actually remember what I said. I’m pretty sure no one else can either.  Frank, on the other hand, had listeners hanging on to his every um.

A toast to hollow victories. Hear hear!

One Response to “How I toasted Frank Palmer’s ass”

  1. Frank June 15, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    Ummmmmmmmm. Thanks Doug I truly appreciate your kind words.
    It’s actually the first and only rubber chicken that I’ve ever received.
    You can toast my ass anytime.

    Frank Palmer.um

Leave a Reply

