Alone and naked

21 Sep

It’s all digital-this, social media-that these days. We’re guilty of it too I guess, mesmerized by the bright new shiny objects. Still, that hasn’t stopped us from churning out several dozen radio commercials over the past year.

Remember radio?

We recommend it to our clients because we like the way the medium works. You can’t hide behind a lack of idea with nice art direction or distractingly beautiful people. The writer is out there, alone and naked. It can get ugly. Hell, I’m naked: it already is ugly.

Over the summer we did a campaign of five for BC Ferries, six for Islander Lager, and a pair for Columbia Fuels. As well as this over-the-top one for our conservative credit union Island Savings:

The best spot I’ve heard in the past few years, for Amp Energy Drink, had me laughing my, erm, arsenal of puns offs. It has just the right mix of smart branding and whacko energy.

This is not a medium for the faint of heart. You actually have to perform your spots in front of clients to sell them. This year alone I have squeaked like a mouse, yipped like a dog and cheeped like a bird. I’ve imitated Howard Cossell, then Foster Hewitt. I’ve been a six-year-old girl, a 90-year-old man and a middle-aged woman from Alabama.

Trying pulling THAT off in social media.

2 Responses to “Alone and naked”

  1. Evan H September 21, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    The best part about this is that I can actually picture someone pitching that AMP spot to the client. Makes me chuckle just to think of the what the clients initial reaction would have been.

    I say good on you Doug for putting yourself out there “alone and naked” (however traumatic it may be), to really push your business forward! I would like to think that when you put yourself out there on a limb like that to pitch ideas, your efforts are justly rewarded. In the words of Foster Hewitt, “He shoots, He scores!”

  2. dougbrowncreative September 22, 2009 at 5:57 am #

    Evan I sometimes wonder if it isn’t more traumatic for the client to watch me “alone and naked” than it is for me….thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

