Is anybody out there?

24 Sep

I have to be honest, I don’t know anybody in the advertising community in this town. I’ve been here a year and a half.615140382_6e62193f7c

Oh, I’ve spoken to a few on the phone, but never met anyone face to face. Sometimes it seems as though the other agencies are mirages, that they don’t really exist except on paper.

When I worked in Vancouver, I think I’d met half the ad folks there 6 months into the job. Why the big diff between Vancouver and Victoria? If you ask me, it comes down to one thing: there’s no award show here.

At the Lotus Awards, I saw people pick up awards so I could put a face to the name; I spilled drinks on agency owners at the bar; I hobnobbed with art directors in black turtlenecks. More importantly, it was a pure community event. We weren’t the poor cousins at someone else’s picnic, sneaking cocktail weenies and hoping no one noticed.

Nothing like that going on over here. I sure meet people, just not ad people.

So I think it’s time we started an Award Show for advertising agencies. No slight to the Rock Awards, but they are for graphic designers. They’re once every 3 or 4 years and only a few categories for ads snuggle up to 70+ categories for design. We need a show for us.

Watch this space for news. If you’re out there, come on – let’s be a family.

4 Responses to “Is anybody out there?”

  1. JP Holecka September 24, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    I have found through Twitter that the walls of agencies have com tumbling down here in Vancouver. Sure we used to meet briefly here and there and at award shows but never made huge connections. I now “know” many of my peers at the Vancouver agencies through constant chatter and sharing on Twitter. I think an awards show might be a good idea or maybe and more casual meet up on a regular basis. Not to be a twitter-centric blow hard but the power that for connecting in the real world has been amazing as well. We created this: http://vancouvertweetup.com on NING and it has really bridged the gap from the twittersphere to the real world for connecting people. Maybe try a Vic version of sorts would do the trick and be less time consuming than an awards show. Here is another ad group on NING: http://www.adgabber.com

  2. Reg September 24, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Doug, one effect that may be coincidental to the timing of your move: the virtualization of business is something we’ve felt even WITHIN our business this past couple years. Part of that is the internet’s enablement of virtual meetings and interaction; part of it is just the economy that has curtailed our travel budgets severely. Net result: less face time between colleagues, intra-Intrawest AND extra-Intrawest.

    I have noticed the impact of less face time overall as (what I consider to be) an unhappy by-product of the virtualization of business interaction. Many conveniences and cost savings represent the benefits of this trend, but some downside as well. My point, though not fully well rounded, is that your move to Victoria may not be as much about Victoria itself (vs Vancouver, or any other market, for that matter) as coincidental to the accelerated virtualization of business this past few years.

    My two cents.

    Reg

  3. dougbrowncreative September 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    Love the idea JP. There are other issues that come when a community lacks a place to meet or an issue to meet around, and your solution will, at the very least, get us all connected. Thank you.

  4. dougbrowncreative September 24, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    I think you hit the nail on the head Reg. Even phone calls these days are few and far between. How long has it been since you and I were face to face or even ear to ear. And yet we would conclude that we are in touch because of our virtual communication online. Great insight.

Leave a Reply

