Tales of a Social Media Nothing

1 Oct

groundedLike six million other people, I have a Twitter account. 160 following, 65 followers and have made 85 tweets since June 23 this year. I visit every day, but as you can see rarely contribute. I realized today that I am socially media awkward. Every day I see my friends, family and coworkers enjoy the many benefits of social media quietly from my computer desk. I am 12 years old again. Grounded during the summer, staring at the other kids playing in the sun. This sound pretty stupid, but really it is a potential challenge that many may have to deal with in the (near) future.

In my case, the problem is not the fear of the medium, but the fear of using the medium wrong. You can find many blogs to explain the do’s and do-not’s of social media, but really you have to just jump in. Like most things done socially, you learn as you go. Isn’t that what grade school was really all about? Perhaps even more so than reading, writing and math.

So maybe I am taking baby steps, but every step will get easier so long as I am walking.

Got any advice or wisdom to share? Lemme know.

2 Responses to “Tales of a Social Media Nothing”

  1. Jodie October 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    Treat it like a dinner party/mixer 😉

  2. dougbrowncreative October 1, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    Like any social gathering, not everybody’s going to be contributing equally. I find you gain as much by listening as you do by talking.

Leave a Reply

