We get fanmail

6 Oct

628-13_Print(8x8)Dear Sir or Madam,

I am writing to convey my absolute disgust with the recent advertisement I saw in the newspaper. I frankly have NEVER been so horrified by anything in all my life!

Is it your policy as a business to publicly endorse  <the torture of a helpless duckling, the desecration of human remains, extreme acts of violence (against computer game villains)>? Can someone over there please explain to me how you were able to make such a grossly irresponsible decision to  make this heinous advertisement in the first place?

It seems you are out of touch with your audience, as is evident by the anger with which I sit down to write this letter. Apparently you were unaware that people on this Island have values that do not condone  <the torture of a helpless duckling, the desecrating of human remains, extreme acts of violence (against computer game villains)> you so callously promote. I have really never been so horrifed by anything in all my life.

I hope that you will punish those responsible for this appalling lapse in judgement and immediately remove the offending advertisement from the newspaper.

I will never purchase your product again and will encourage my friends to boycott your <hearing aid provider, recycling depot, retro video game retail store>.

<Grievously Offended Individual>,<Somewhere Up Island>

2 ads comined

4 Responses to “We get fanmail”

  1. amy@turbinecreative.com October 6, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

    I saw another island hearing ad in a newspaper and thought it was great.

  2. dougbrowncreative October 6, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    Was anything being tortured in it? If not, it wasn’t ours.

  3. maureen blaseckie December 8, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I hadn’t seen the Ellice recycle ad before…awesome. Offensive, yes, dark and twisted, most definitely, even bordering on encouraging illegal acts but when the penny drops it’s worth it. Maybe some folk just don’t have a penny to spare: the world must be a dull, colourless, predictable place for them.

    Thanks for the laugh, I needed it…

  4. Doug Brown December 8, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Here’s the entire Ellice campaign Moe, including the infamous inflatable sex pig and the stained mattress. Radio too!

    http://www.yourcopeland.com/work_ellice.php

Leave a Reply

