Gift of the Gab

22 Oct

petThere are few industries as notorious as advertising for long-windedness. We ad people have the gift of the gab, don’t we? Even when we preach single-minded messaging in the ads we build.

I don’t get a two-page contact report after I go to the dentist. The guy that changes my oil doesn’t go on for an hour about how he approached and solved my problem. As a customer, I just want my teeth cleaned, my oil changed, and get on with my day.

And yet, I think there’s a fear in agencies that if we don’t rationalize everything we do, explain our thinking each step of the way, we get devalued as ‘pretty picture factories’ with no strategic underpinning.

I’d sure like to hear from clients on this one – what are your expectations regarding your agency outlining background and rationale?

4 Responses to “Gift of the Gab”

  1. dougbrowncreative October 22, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    Damn.

  2. Brian October 22, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Honestly, I would like a little more detail from my mechanic. Then I might be ok with how much he charges me for an oil change.

  3. Erik October 25, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    I have been a passionate advocate for reducing complexity and overheads when it comes to the agency client relationship. I’ve championed deep sixing the the contact reports in the past but have a new thought on the matter. Here it is:
    If your client contact person (buyer) needs to defend his/her purchase decisions to a higher authority, then the contact reports are important and worth doing. If your client isn’t in that position – spare him/her and your staff a lot of grief writing and reading these reports. Give that person a copy of the action items agreed upon, with names and dates so they know what’s happening.

  4. Shane October 26, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    @Brian – To hold the analogy to the agency model, would you still want the extra explanation from your mechanic if he billed you more for it? Thanks for your comment.

    @Erik – agreed, needs should always take priority over process. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

