The latest media buzz

19 Nov

You end up in some pretty odd places when you fall down Internet wormholes. I found this whacky art from Germany with dead flies. Not to everyone’s tastes to be sure, but it spoke to me immediately.

What I like best about it is how the artist has taken something nasty and turned it into something charming without really altering its nastiness. Naturally I started to wonder how this could be applied to advertising….

Lo and behold, there is a German ad agency that has done just that, albeit using live flies as ad slaves.

They tied tiny banners to the little buggers legs and let them go.  The flies buzzed off and flew a short distance until they got pooped and had to land. This was repeated until the Insect Cruelty squad showed up to arrest the creative team no doubt.

Perhaps you have some bugs or vermin in your office that you could put to work on your brands.

5 Responses to “The latest media buzz”

  1. Tension November 19, 2009 at 9:44 am #

    Dead fly art is the coolest thing I have seen in a long time. And to think all this times I have just thrown their corpses away. Well, not anymore I tell you!

  2. Mike November 19, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    That’s such a great idea! Talk about one great way to advertise by letting critters that pester you anyways get a double kick at the proverbial can. Not only are they just generally pestering you but now they also wave around advertisements. My oh my, PETA may just have a field day with this idea.

  3. dougbrowncreative November 19, 2009 at 11:36 am #

    Is there a People for the Ethical Treatment of Insects? Are there bug labour laws? More importantly, how would the art director get the fly to hold still so he could tie the thread around its leg??

  4. Janice Tomich November 19, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    Can you hear my belly laugh from across Georgia Straight. Hilarious — Guerilla Marketing at its best!

  5. Petra December 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    I’m German…my Oma taught me at a very early age how to sneak up on a fly and catch him…not smoosh him. Now I understand what and why…

Leave a Reply

