Blockbusters blew it.

20 Nov

The only piece of mail I found in my mailbox today was a white envelope with my name and address in all caps. This instantly creates lines in my forehead and an upside down smile. The sending address, an unnamed Ontario address. To me this means bad. I have missed a payment to someone somewhere and they have released the hounds to collect from me. So what happens next? Of course I open it, holding my breath slightly. The first thing I see inside is the Block Buster logo. I visualize my living room and search for a DVD case hidden somewhere that has long since been forgotten that Blockbuster could be searching for. I am cursing the company in my head for having the nerve to… wait a minute, the letter begins with “It’s been a month since your last visit and as a valued customer we want you to know that you are important to us.” This message is followed by the usual chat of bla bla customers like you… we have these new titles… bla bla. Then at the end an offer of ONE FREE NEW RELEASE, then quietly, when you rent another new release. Ho-hum.

Being an ad guy I analyze what has just happen to learn from this DM piece. I was tricked into opening the piece (good), but the only positive feeling I gained was that I did not owe any money. Was this letter left un-branded to lead me to believe it was some kind off credit card statement or something from Revenue Canada? Is this a good idea? And what is in it for me? A two for one coupon for a movie rental. Yeah I am gonna fold up this 8.5″ x 11″ sheet of paper and force it into my wallet right now. I think Blockbuster totally missed a chance to get me back into their store. Instead they have informed me that I’m not even worth one free rental to them.

What have I learned? I may try the collection agency look on the outside with an incredible offer in the inside to make up for the trick I pulled. Thanks Blockbuster!


7 Responses to “Blockbusters blew it.”

  1. Anthony November 20, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    What was the that movie where the little girl sends off letters to BIG companies in hopes that they will offer something for free?

    Maybe you could email blockbuster customer relations, or are they on twitter? Show them this very well thought out and written blog post of yours.

    LET THEM KNOW they missed the mark with you! They will love the feedback, you’ll get a pizza party outta the deal and Mom Nature will thank you for saving another tree!

  2. SeaBreeze November 20, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    If you email/mail block buster and get a reply I’d love to hear about it. One of my friends got that when she complained about the lack of rolo’s in her rolo ice cream.

  3. Dale Baglo November 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I had the same thing happen this morning! Not from Blockbuster, but from “Tri-Arrow Industrial RECOVERY Inc”. I’m thinking accounts recovery or something and searching my mind for any past due invoices. I open up the envelope and it’s someone selling me industrial waste disposal services. You know… oily sludge, toxic chemicals etc.

    Either they mistakenly think my business deals in industrial waste… or… maybe they’ve heard something I created/produced lately.

  4. Michael Tension November 20, 2009 at 4:44 pm #

    Anthony: Getting a hold of BB directly is a great idea, see if they up their game when they have direct contact with a dissatisfied customer, I do love pizza.

    SeaBreeze: what was the result of emailing about the lack of Rolo’s?

    Dale Baglo: Apparently the pseudo-bill is a really old trick, at least I got an offer, lame as it was, all you got was an ad. Sorry to hear that man.

  5. kylabee November 23, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    Great Blog Michael!

    I get Blockbuster emails and every once and awhile I will check them to see if they are offering me a free movie but am disappointed like you and it is only a 2 for 1 deal. You would think they would spice up their deals once and awhile especially since they have noted that you haven’t been there. Good luck and let us know what happens.

    And Seabreeze…what happened with Rolo and lack of rolo’s in the ice cream. It is never good when a girl is in need of chocolate and there is a lack of it.

  6. Petra December 15, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

    Well maybe you didnt get anything usefull from Block Buster…but it got us all talking about them. What’s that worth?

  7. mtension December 15, 2009 at 10:46 pm #

    Yeah we are talking about Blockbuster, but I am not renting a movie from them.

Leave a Reply

