4 Responses to “Spam bam thank you ma’am”

  1. Andrew Hall December 7, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    Well, if the stats are true, then in addition to the … 12 or so emails I get a day that I want, I should be getting 400 junk emails per day. Between the ECPA and my email client’s junk filter, I get junk mail once every two or three days. So, I’d say it’s working out quite well for me!

  2. rgonterman December 7, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Nancy Davis must be a princess from Nigeria because she offered US$6 million from her bank account. The check hasn’t arrived yet but I’m sure it got held up at the border. Hotmail is the greatest!

  3. Mike G. December 7, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    Hey! No Kidding I just got Sloppiest U. Epiglottis on my UVic e-mail this morning. Unfortunately they’ve found me at UVic.

    I’ve also been offered million from the Toyota Lotto Corporation in China, the inheritances of a Russian billionaire from the bank of China, scams across craigslist and eBay to ship products to Nigeria for double what I’ve posted the price as AND on top of all of that, plain old spam every second day from legitimate companies. I have yet to be offered the inheritance of a Nigerian Price, perhaps next it’ll be Malaysian just to mix things up a bit!

    *Sigh* We can’t trust people on the internet, can’t trust people on the phone, can’t trust them in person. I’m thinking this is a very sorry state for the world. Well at least I have my 650 friends on Facebook that would NEVER betray me…oh wait…I only know 10 of them.

    Gotta love the internet 😉

    Thanks for another great post Doug.

  4. dougbrowncreative December 7, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    Andrew: I’m struggling with the math, but my guess is you don’t have yahoo!

    Robin and Mike, RE: Nigerian scammers. I know you’re not supposed to engage these shysters, but sometimes I can’t help but respond. Invariably I claim to be: the long-lost surviving relative; an American Idol scout; the deceased person’s ghost; Oprah. I figure if I can get just one of them to send me a pic of themselves (for our friends in law enforcement), it will have been worth it.

Leave a Reply

