Analogue versus Digital? Poppycock.

19 Jan

I found this fascinating quote today:

“The divide is not between digital and traditional, or new media and old or anything like that. The divide is between those who cant understand the changing consumers and those who can.”

This is from Walter Pike, a South African. He makes the argument, correctly in my opinion, that a fundamental consumer behavioural change is what we have to get our heads around. Digital, he argues, is not a media channel. It is the way that consumers now interact with each other, and with brands.

Read the entire post here.

4 Responses to “Analogue versus Digital? Poppycock.”

  1. Walter Pike January 19, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Hi

    Thank you for spreading my ideas.

  2. dougbrowncreative January 19, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I enjoyed many of your posts Walter. I will continue to pass along your great ideas. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Mario Parise January 22, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I agree, with a few caveats.

    Our environment has changed, and so naturally that has some impact on how we behave and how we see things.

    A good example of this is how my kids (aged 2 and 4) just expect that any TV show has an accompanying website full of games for them to play. They also assume that since they’ve seen me playing online poker, I must actually be one of the celebrity poker players on the screen. (They literally ask me, “which one is you?) The distinction that TV is actually a one-way medium makes no sense to them.

    I think we all experience this to various degrees. Part of us just expects – whether rationally or not – that all media is now two-way. That we can participate. And I think some part of us is disappointed whenever that turns out to be false.

    SO, all of the above is my way of saying I agree with what Walter said. But I said I had a few caveats, and here they are.

    Human nature has not changed. I don’t claim to know what human nature is, but I believe people are fundamentally no different than we were 100 years ago. Our environment has changed, and so our expectations changed, but we are still the same irrational beings we’ve always been.

    The reason I think this is an important distinction is that there are a lot of digital marketing folk who think all the rules of advertising are now irrelevant. That we don’t need big ideas. That what’s important is to do something cool and cutting edge. Or that all we need to do is help people to connect and somehow they’ll sell our widgets for us.

    I say bull shitake!

    The best way to sell anything is to get “the consumer” to develop an emotional bond with the product. And the best way to do that is to execute BIG IDEAS in BIG WAYS. I’d take a low-tech big idea over a cutting-edge mediocre idea any day.

  4. dougbrowncreative January 22, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    AMEN to that Mario. Creating strong brands and communicating them with big ideas is what we, as advertisers, have to continue doing. The medium is not the message, just the vehicle. That’s tactics as opposed to strategy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and caveats…

Leave a Reply

