Why are Converse so popular? It isn’t the ads.

11 Feb

(Guest post by Nic Springer)

As you may know, I’m the novice student here at Copeland. Lately I’ve been thinking about brand loyalty, what makes me like certain things. Is it really about the product, or the advertising? I happen to know that Converse All-Stars have no arch support, and generally are just a bad idea to really do any sort of long term activity in. They are just canvas and rubber, with some rope lining on the soles that make them slippery as all get out in the rain. Do any of these facts make me dislike them?

Nope.  I wear them as often as I can. Sometimes I wear them and nothing else… It’s an aesthetic thing… ANYWAY.  I truly love this brand, it’s not really advertised all that much, but it sort of does its own advertising in a way. Dr Who wears them, everyone who wants to stand out as an individual wears them. Yes I realize the irony of wearing them to stand out. I don’t care.

If I really think about it, I have never seen a commercial for Converse. Not even once in my life. I have however seen them in movies and television, and rarely are they even acknowledged. But they are there, ever present in the back of my mind subtle, unassuming, yet somehow sure of their own coolness.

Searching the breadth of the Internet I can find a vast following of Chuck Taylor wearing hipsters, tricksters, and rockers. Brand Loyalty, Converse has achieved it and even made it seem effortless. But I believe that more effort might have gone into it than it seems. Maybe the point here is that it’s hard to tell people that you are cool and have them believe it. But if you’re just visible, without being boisterous, you can attract attention.

So if you see me around wearing my chucks, feel free to let me know some other ways you’ve seen to create brand loyalty.

3 Responses to “Why are Converse so popular? It isn’t the ads.”

  1. Quintin Torres March 1, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    I’ve looked up to Converse for some time. A number of months ago I feel that as a company it had taken their eyes off the ball. For a while their design was not what it used to be and in my experience, the quality of the goods went south. HAVING SAID THAT, now I think Converse are the best although they are not the cheapest trainers.

  2. ana May 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I think converse are awesome because it let’s you express yourself. Besides they look cute with dresses and skinny jeans.

  3. declan June 15, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    converse are amazing, but chavs and skanks and hip hoppers finally found them and made the company make the shoes in different styles,then everyone bashes them as if they were the first to find them, bloody muppets >:O

Leave a Reply

