Breaking with the Burger King brand

5 Mar

Today I read an article from Marketing online about Burger King launching a new campaign to promote its new Steak XT burgers.

Burger King is trying to profit from people who are not going to steakhouses due to the economy. Steakhouses are estimated to cost $15 for a burger like this, where Burger King will charge you $6.99. $7.29 if you want it Smokey. They’ve introduced new broilers to their kitchens to make these bad boys, and they’re also testing out new products that can be made on these broilers like ribs, stuffed burgers and even flame-kissed desserts.

I have to say that I don’t like the commercial to promote the burgers. There is a guy dressed in a Burger King uniform going up to a table and telling the people that they are in a Burger King, when it’s obvious that they are. To me it just doesn’t make sense.

I also think that if you are going to a Burger King then you are going there because you like the budget food that you’ve eaten there before and aren’t going there to have a more extravagant burger or ribs. If you wanted something like that you would still go to your favorite spot that serves that type of food. I think Burger King should stick to what it is known for and leave it at that, rather than fudge around with their brand. It doesn’t smell right.

5 Responses to “Breaking with the Burger King brand”

  1. JP Holecka March 5, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    CPB is behind it as you know and have had mostly success to date with the BK brand. I am not sure it’s the right strategy though. Going out for a steak is more than just the meat per say. It’s about taking the family out and enjoying a sit down meal in a place that is comfortable. It’s the event not the meat in my opinion. One thing to consider is that maybe the net result of this campaign is to continually push the brand up in perceived high standards? I know that they opened up and BK Bar in South Beach Florida [http://www.usatoday.com/money/industries/food/2010-01-21-burger-king-beer_N.htm] and suspect that this is part of that overall brand push.

    I know that it won’t change the frequency that I frequent BK that’s for sure.

  2. kylabee March 5, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Hi JP,

    Thank you for your comment. I agree with you that going out for steak or something like that is about the event and environment.

    I read the article about the BK Bar and maybe you are right and they are trying to keep up the high standards. When I was a kid places like Burger King and McDonald’s were where young kids had their first jobs. I was one of those kids. I was not old enough to drink alcohol so serving it would seem strange or at least to me. Maybe there is an age limit of how old you have to be to work at this BK Bar. I don’t know.

    Like I said before I think that Burger King should stick to what it is known for…if people want beer they can go to their usual place to drink or take the meal with you home. I see they deliver but not the beer so have your meal at home with beer.

  3. V March 9, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    I have to say that Burger King took quite a unique approach… I believe I remember Mercedes trying to make a “cheaper model” so that people with less income would want to buy a mercedes, but it ended up doing quite poorly because no one wanted the known-to-be-pricey cheap version of a nice car. I think it told people this car is not quality, not manufactured well…I’m very curious to see how well Burger King is doing, and how the sales are with their new burger! Although they’re not trying to make a lesser version of their burger, how well do products sell when presented out of their element or is competing out of their league?

    Since the economy is down, you’d think they’d hand out coupons to their existing burgers. Maybe they’re trying to give off this impression that they “still go it” and they’re aren’t affected by the economy. I’m wondering why they aren’t conducting a poll on their website to see what their customers think, although i’m sure the sales will give enough info. Is there a site we can see how well they are doing?

    To add to the thought of what happens when the economy is suffering, I doubt I’d think of buying a burger if I felt like eating steak. If the Keg is too expensive, I’d probably go to a cheaper steak house, if not cook at home. If I went to Burger King for fast food, no doubt I might think that even getting a combo meal with a Steak XT burger is pricey for a burger!!

    I’m curious to see what Burger King does next, but still think this was a very odd approach. But who knows, they can’t always have it there way.

  4. Alice March 11, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Why do you have to do it? Just because you believe it doesn’t make it true. told people this car is not quality, not manufactured well? to see how well Burger King is doing, and how the sales are with their new burger is an interesting subject to me too. Oh. not trying to make a lesser version of their burger, how well do products sell when presented out of their element or is competing out of their league are not trying to make a lesser version of their burger, how well do products sell when presented out of their element or is competing out of their league . Interesting rationalization. What is your real name? Perhaps. trying to give off this impression that they “still go it” and they are are not affected by the economy are trying to give off this impression that they “still go it” and they are are not affected by the economy . Why do you wonder? Because you asked me to — SHRDLHU. I believe there is one, yes. Why do you want to do add to the thought of what happens when the economy is suffering, I doubt I Would think of buying a burger if I felt like eating steak so much? I hadn’t thought of that. That is a hypothetical, counterfactual, conditional. to see what Burger King does next, but still think this was a very odd approach is an interesting subject to me too. Huh. William Shatner.:-)

  5. V March 14, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Thanks for your criticism alice, and pointing out i left out a “t” in the word GOT. Thankfully, I won’t point out your errors, because I’m sure you already know where they are. When I spoke of the cars, the point I was trying to make was that when they were selling cheaper models, no one wanted to buy it. Then they took the same model and raised the prices, and then people wanted to buy it. Yes the burger they made were not exactly the same, but what I wanted to know was how a burger would do, when made made out to be of better quality. I never knew merely thinking out loud, in this case blogging, would stir quite a fire in you, but glad it did! You are quite right though they maybe they still go it (just for you) and are showing that they aren’t affected by the economy. By all means I don’t own more or less eat fast food, but I’d think they’d lower the prices and better the services, for example how fast the service is, rather than introduce the steakhouse burger. Why do I wonder? For the pure reason I would like to know the research and reasons behind their advertising strategies… why else would one wonder?
    – vaughn

Leave a Reply

