Quick! Name a brand of white-out tape.

13 Sep

Drawing a blank?  (pun intended)

A couple weeks ago, I too would have found it difficult to come up with some names. I would have come up with BIC but that’s about it. What about Tipp Ex? Not only do I now know the name, but I’ve emailed friends about them, posted their name on my Facebook page, and am now even blogging about them.

So, how has the European stationary brand Tipp-Ex prompted me to become such an advocate? They showed me something novel, made me laugh, and provided me with a way to engage with their brand.

Just over two weeks ago, a new YouTube based video campaign was released showing a reluctant hunter preparing to shoot a bear. Fortunately, the hunter was able to use Tipp-Ex to erase the title of the video. The ad then invites viewers to enter a new title, which rewrites the story. With plenty of different video clips ready to view, viewers are instantly able to engage with the brand and see the results of their entries.

No salesman and no technical breakdown about the superiority of Tipp-Ex’s sticky white tape– rather, Tipp-Ex thankfully opted to create a marketing campaign that used their product to amuse and engage the public. With over 6 million views on YouTube already, Tipp Ex has successfully created a terrific campaign that utilized the immense power of a viral video.

What’s your favorite Tipp-Ex Video entry?

Try “Tipp Exes” … Yup,  their brand name as a verb.  It’s a personal favorite

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ba1BqJ4S2M

11 Responses to “Quick! Name a brand of white-out tape.”

  1. kylabee September 13, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    I had never seen one of the videos but this one made me smile and laugh and it is very clever.

  2. dougbrowncreative September 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    I also cried when I saw it.

  3. Michela September 14, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Thanks for this- it’s a great campaign. The “tickles” option made me chuckle.

  4. andmerson September 14, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Kyla- So glad I could share this with you. How happy is Tipp-Ex??. Both of us are smiling and they increased their social media presence from 100+ mentions a day to over 6000. I can assume there are some smiling suits over at Tipp-Ex as well.

    Doug- Tears of pure uncontainable joy?

    Michela- “Tickles” was up near the top of my list as well! These videos make me laugh every time.

  5. Michael Tension September 14, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    And if you put in the right words you can watch them urinate while inebriated, or watch the bear give the would-be hunter a good “rodgering”. Nice to see it isn’t a prudish brand.

  6. Eden September 16, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    Clever and very unexpected. I’m a fan of the “hugs” option.

    As it happens, I’m currently studying in Europe and after I read the first sentence of the third paragraph I glanced to the right side of my desk. Sure enough, Tipp-Ex white-out tape. If you had asked me 10 minutes ago what brand of white-out I’m using these days I probably would have said, “Umm… Wite-Out?”

    Fast-forward 10 minutes into the future, I’m showing my friends an amazing and hilarious campaign from an unlikely source. Who knew stationary could be so much fun?

  7. andmerson September 16, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    Michael- I completely agree. European companies are so much more loose-strapped than their American counter-parts. Glad we have YouTube to allows us to share in the good humor.

    Eden- That’s terrific. Not only are we both probably spending much to much time now dealing with white-out, but we are oceans apart and still talking about it together. Where are you studying in Europe? I studied a semester in Portugal. Sadly, I have “Basics” on my desk- but when this runs out..Tipp-Ex it is. Would be interesting to see when the exposure of this campaign really starts to effect sales.

  8. Eden September 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    I’m at ESSEC Business school, just outside of Paris. I’ll be spending the semester here before returning to UVic BCom.

    It’s funny because I remember when I was buying the white-out tape, I just stared at the shelves for longer than was really necessary because I didn’t recognize any of the brands. I ended up just grabbing one, but looks like I made a good choice!
    I’m feeling loyal to the brand now, which is astounding considering I was completely indifferent before seeing the campaign. I doubt I would have even remembered which one I bought last time. Really a genius campaign by Tipp-Ex!

  9. Koltie December 8, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    That was brilliant and adorable. I chose “marries” and it was hilarious.

    Andmerson: re: Europeans being more “loose-strapped”… I work (in Victoria) for an American Fortune 500 company. It has a very strong corporate social responsibility program that funds relief efforts, children’s education, etc… basically, what you would expect a large financial services organization to donate to.

    When I travelled to one of our European offices (Vienna) in the summer, however, I noticed that they had posters up all over the place for their main cause: funding a female DJ contest for a local electronic music festival. Kind of rad, in my opinion.

  10. andmerson December 8, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Koltie- I think that is terrific. Sometimes the best causes that raise the most awareness and gain the most support are the ones that resonate in the hearts of a local community. Great to see your company has a strong social responsibility program that supports varied causes all over the world.

    It must have been amazing to travel to Austria. It’s on the list of places I’d like to see on my next European excursion.

  11. Koltie December 8, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Austria was amazing; I fell in love with the city immediately. I went in early July, and apparently only 40% of the population was there, with the rest abroad on holidays throughout Europe. At first I thought 40% was a bit of a stretch, but then I noticed how empty the city was (aside from hospitality workers and other tourists).

    The best part was their views on work. I was doing a product integration with a bank, and in the board room they were incredibly serious, focused, and professional. As soon as it was time for lunch (which, btw, included wine and was almost two hours) they were hilarious and joking around. The CEO of the bank asked me to meet him for coffee before one of my working days there… in my North American mind I thought that meant grabbing a quick one to go and talking en route to the office. What it actually meant was taking almost an hour to sit, enjoy a couple coffees, and chat before work.

    They definitely have their priorities straight. Ugh, now I want to be back there!

Leave a Reply

