A different kind of social media success

30 Sep

This week I was asked by a friend in another ad agency for help sourcing a film production company for a Yukon shoot. The candidate would need experience shooting from a chopper.

Doesn’t that evoke something amazing?

I did what comes second nature now: I took his request to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Within a few hours of putting up the request, I was able to put together a list of the 3 most suitable companies, none of whom I had prior knowledge of.

What I did have was relationships with the people who made the recommendations, forged through my working career and my new social media network.

Through the process of putting out the request, my network expanded further, with many film production companies contacting me.

It’s not always about fans, followers and increased traffic to your website here in Socialmediaville.

Thanks to all who helped me out!

2 Responses to “A different kind of social media success”

  1. Janis La Couvée September 30, 2010 at 6:44 am #

    Isn’t it amazing how quickly networks expand using social media. The bi-lateral nature of Twitter in particular lends itself to wonderful synchronicity.

    Congratulations on your success!

  2. dougbrowncreative September 30, 2010 at 6:57 am #

    The beautiful thing about this success story Janis is that it reflects the helpful and generous nature of the social media environment. I personally think social media creates momentum towards these attitudes, which is fantastic.

Leave a Reply

