Tool Time

13 Dec

As human beings we obsess about measuring, calculating, and comparing everything we value in life. We measure our waists, calculate our finances, compare our successes, and in the case of last month, measure the size of our moustaches.  Similarly, social media enthusiasts rise to the opportunity to show their endowment and measure the size of their… Klout. 

Klout is a useful tool to rate the overall online influence its users have and it gives a simple profile of its users, but it doesn’t connect its users to blog posts.  There are many tools to estimate the influence of a blogger, but what tool can I use to find great blogs about what I want to read, without wasting time searching? 

As a social media researcher, it doesn’t take long for my eyes to crust over while researching the extensive list of online tools designed to tame and explain social media efforts. So when I came across Alltop, a simple and helpful tool, I was delighted.  Alltop does not offer an online influence rating like Klout, but it does offer top posts from top bloggers. 

Alltop is easy on the eyes, easy to use, and useful. As a news aggregation service, it allows users to search for various topics; from zoology to social media and everything in between. This tool cuts down on your search time by showcasing top news stories and blog posts from the top sites.  All of the topics are updated automatically every hour, and the best part is, it’s free.

Alltop also gives a list of the most popular stories, topics that reflect the interest of the user, and Alltop’s personal favorites. However, the tool is most valuable because it connects you to key influencers.  On an earlier Copeland blog post, advertising through key influencers as well as the importance of creating material designed to be viewed and shared was discussed.  Developing sincere relationships and targeting your content to an audience with social influence is important, but you first must find them and engage with what they’re saying.  At a glance, Alltop shows you top bloggers and what they’re talking about.

It is a tool worth loving.   

 

13 Responses to “Tool Time”

  1. dougbrowncreative December 13, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Good suggest Lindsey. Speeds things up and helps you find the key influencers. I think the influencers are going to play an increasingly larger role in the marketing mix – so this is great advice.

  2. ecairn December 13, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Great post. If you want to get both (content and influence ranking, based on backlinks from peers), you should check us, eCairn, out.

    Here is our top 150 in scoial marketing, to give you an idea of the quality of our ranking: http://blog.ecairn.com/2010/09/29/top-150-social-media-marketing-blogs-sept-10/

    Best

  3. lindsmaloney December 13, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Thank you for the comment Doug. Absolutely, influencers are playing an increasingly larger role.

    When I think about this topic, I’m always drawn back to the post you wrote on advertising through key influencers and the importance of creating material designed to be viewed and shared. The article you posted to that blog, “Advertising’s New Holy Grail: Sharing” really did get it bang on- sharing content has become “I’ll have what she’s having” entertainment, and people are much more likely to share either shared content or content posted from influencers.

  4. lindsmaloney December 13, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Thanks ecairn. Great info on your post, thanks for sharing. I especially like the simple layout of the top 150 — the blog’s name, the URL, and their trend. Do you have an updated list of the top 150?

  5. asmaamethqal December 13, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Great post Lindsay! I discovered AllTop 2 years ago and It was love at first sight :o). It is a great tool that shows you the best blogs out there regarding each topic you enjoy to read and it is so easy to sync it to your iGoogle or Google Reader.

    Ps. I love the pic you used for this post! We are so we obsessed about measuring everything!

  6. Lindsey December 13, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Thanks Asmaa! Such a lovely comment. Alltop really completes my morning coffee. I love taking half an hour in the morning to learn about new things that I am interested in. It`s even better when you don`t have to search around for great posts.

  7. I drop a leave a response whenever I appreciate a article on a website or I have something to
    add to the discussion. It’s a result of the fire communicated
    in the post I browsed. And after this article Tool Time | We make it all better.
    I was actually excited enough to drop a leave a responsea response 😛 I do have a
    couple of questions for you if it’s okay. Is it only me or
    does it give the impression like a few of the responses come across as if they are left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing at other social sites,
    I’d like to follow you. Would you make a list the complete urls of
    your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page
    or linkedin profile?

  8. deep discount July 3, 2014 at 5:03 pm #

    Hi, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this blog post. It
    was helpful. Keep on posting!

  9. skyblogs July 4, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

    Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I
    was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice practices and we are looking to exchange solutions
    with other folks, why not shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  10. www.icecreamshoes.net July 29, 2014 at 12:39 am #

    Thanks in support of sharing such a good thought,
    pst is good, thats why i hsve read it completely

  11. تنظيف سجاد بالرياض August 2, 2014 at 3:35 am #

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  12. hcg private label September 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and paragraph
    is truly fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of content.

  13. unlock samsung galaxy trend September 12, 2014 at 8:00 pm #

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very
    techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my
    own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions?
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

