My Twitter suicide note

30 Dec

Dear friends and followers,

For the past 2 years I have been regularly tweeting under the ridiculous and randomly selected name dobronski.

During that time I have chosen to follow 1,100+ people and businesses, and have been followed back by roughly the same number.

I have tweeted some 3,000 times and have tried my best to minimize brainfarts and comments about my cat, who, incidentally, now tops 20 pounds and has taken to attacking me if any attention I give him doesn’t lead directly to food. But I digress.

I originally got onto Twitter out of a desire to learn what I could that would be beneficial to the company I work for, Copeland.

But I’m not at all convinced that I haven’t been around too long under my own moniker (sorry, double negative) to minimal benefit for Copeland.

Therefore I believe it’s time to kill dobronski off.

Starting January 1st, 2011, I will be tweeting exclusively for @yourcopeland (dob)

Honestly, I don’t have time to do both. So I’m chosing to put my company in front of my personal brand. Which feels right to me.

In lieu of flowers, please follow me under @yourcopeland, where I will join my other zombie-loving colleagues.

Or send chocolate. #THANKYOU

10 Responses to “My Twitter suicide note”

  1. Amy December 30, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Don’t think of it as suicide, but as reincarnation.

  2. dougbrowncreative December 30, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Or an organ donation?

  3. arti.fact December 30, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Congratulations.

    So what happens to all those tweets that you have on some server in cyberspace. Have you backed them up for your book that you have started to write?

  4. dougbrowncreative December 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    You mean “Brainfarts: Volume 1”? I’ll get you a signed copy. 🙂

  5. ngawangchodron December 31, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    Since I didn’t know about your other Twitter acount, this gives me an opportunity to follow your tweets with Copeland, so it’s all great to me!!
    I have increased the traffic to my Flickr account by about 20% by using twitter..as well as that I have connected with some great information and awesome sites that I never would have heard of otherwise.

  6. dougbrowncreative December 31, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    I like how you’ve been using social media Ngawanchodron. You tweet, you comment on blog posts, and you provide relevant content links that add value to the topic. I’m not surprised you’re getting great traffic results. Way to go.

  7. John Dobronski August 24, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    OMFG pls don’t kill me.
    (Yepp, that’s my real surname).

  8. Doug Brown August 24, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Look at it this way John: now the twitter name is available. 😉

  9. John Dobronski August 30, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Seems like you have a positive attitude, man :). Indeed, I would be rather happy if would not keep a 10 mile distance from social networks ( and twitter ).

    Cheers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Build customer loyalty the way social media does « Advertising Must Change - January 14, 2011

    […] competition, Reddit. The rare time someone does quit a social media site, it sounds more like a eulogy than an […]

Leave a Reply

