6 Marketing Trends I Hope Do Not Continue in 2011

31 Dec

Many people are writing their predictions for 2011.  I have decided to change my list to marketing trends I hope do not continue in 2011:

1. Flashmobs

I think we can all agree that it has been over done and is cheesy. I love the random acts of Glee but once Oprah and the Black Eyed Peas have done it – it’s done!

2. Taking Klout personally

Klout provides a general direction for advertisers looking for influencers in the market; it should not be taken as the ranker for who the cool kids are in the real world! So your life is not over if your Klout score is under 35.

3. Companies will realize that crowd sourcing is not the answer to all successful marketing campaigns.

Don’t get me wrong – I am a fan of crowd sourcing but I do think some major concepts are still best left to professionals. Before going ahead with crowd sourcing evaluate your customers and whether or not they are creators and have the tools to participate.  There are many ways to involve your customers through online polls, social media, etc that are probably lighter in the level of contribution but receive more participation.

4. Thinking it is just enough to have a shouting social media presence.

If you are still wondering about Social Media and are not on it yet, stop reading this post and get yourself on!

If you do have a presence, are you really making the most of it or simply using it as you would traditional media? Are you interacting with your audience to learn more about their thoughts and needs so you can better evolve your offerings? Are you running Social Media Campaigns?

Social Media loses the ‘social’ if you are not interacting with your audience so evaluate your social media messaging. If you are only shouting the positive and ignoring the negative, your ROI will not be improved by Social Media and your efforts setting it up are useless.

5. 3D creative.

Unless you provide me with 3D glasses, I don’t get it and only see a silly off coloured ad with no value ad. It’s been done, move on…

6. Bacon and Cupcakes themes

Random but a necessary mention- Seems like the world has gone Bacon and cupcake crazy with cupcakeries springing up as much as Starbucks 10 years ago and bacon novelty items filling stores. I’m waiting for that Bacon themed augmented reality campaign any day now…. I can smell the 4D…

I am strong advocate for advertising innovation and risk taking and I do believe that clients don’t do it enough! However, many clients decide to do an ‘innovative’ campaign but keep it too safe or sacrifice strategy to do something cool.

When doing your 2011 planning grow some balls but don’t fall short – go for the big idea but make sure it isn’t in the trend gap and NEVER lose sight of your strategy!

4 Responses to “6 Marketing Trends I Hope Do Not Continue in 2011”

  1. Derek Ford December 31, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    definitive list.

  2. arti.fact December 31, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I’m with you on the Klout. Now another one has sprung up and with it their trying to make money from it, which I don’t have a problem with since it’s probably better than pushing drugs but come on do we really want to know how good we are on twitter and it’s .

  3. arti.fact December 31, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    The link to the last comment that got dumped by the server is http://twittercounter.com/

  4. hitgirl January 1, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Last night my son forced me to eat bacon flavored bubble gum. I most definitely am with you on number 6. Sandy.

Leave a Reply

