Who really deserves to win the West Coast Social Media Awards?

17 May

I spent some time this morning going over the nominees. (I had time – it was 4 a.m.)

I’ve come to the conclusion that we are not the best nominee in 2 of the 3 categories we find ourselves contesting.

Best Social Media Campaign

Our Zombie Internship Contest was fun and worked for us on many levels, but it didn’t pack the wallop of Think! Social Media’s Superbowl campaign. They had huge numbers and press to match. Nor did it raise the social goodwill that the Mary Lake Conversancy effort did. That’s saving a lake. What did we do? Encourage cannibalism.

Best Social Media Customer Service Award

I still don’t know who nominated us in this category or why, but Asmaa and I really do appreciate it. Still there is no question in my mind that Rod Phillips of Liquor Plus deserves this award. He has been a veritable pioneer in the use of social media for business, creating countless interesting and engaging ways of building his business and providing value back to his customers. I think he should be recognized for that.

Best Blog

Ok, I think we have the best blog on the list. 25 posts a month, a variety of contributors, topics ranging from  advertising, social media and local students to zombies, pranks and poop. Congrats to the other nominees for your terrific content. I have subscribed to a few of them.

These are just my opinions, and my teammates at Copeland may well want to kill me for expressing them.

And then eat me, in true Copeland style.

7 Responses to “Who really deserves to win the West Coast Social Media Awards?”

  1. Mel Wood May 17, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    Self deprecating to a fault, in true Copeland style. 🙂

  2. louisa May 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Self decapitating to a fault, really in true Copeland style.

  3. dougbrowncreative May 17, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    > Just honest Mel, actually.

    > No point losing our heads over a few noms Louisa! They don’t grow back like they used to.

  4. Chris Burdge May 17, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    That’s why we wanted you on the judges panel Doug. Then you went and got nominated for an award disqualifying yourself from the panel…

  5. dougbrowncreative May 17, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    I am ashamed of myself Chris.

  6. Chris Burdge May 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    BTW – kudos to you for using “eat me” in a blog post and making it seem appropriate… 😉

  7. dougbrowncreative May 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    There should be a special category for comments like this Chris. 🙂

Leave a Reply

