Blogging advice: Love it or leave it

18 May

Having regular, interesting content is vital to a blog. I read many but subscribe to few because I find intermittent content frustrating.

Nothing perplexes me quite like noting that a blogger only posts once a month. Or less often. Is there any point? Would you follow someone who only tweeted once a month?

Regularity, as Ed McMahon pointed out, is the key to happiness.

In order to achieve that you need to be a bit manic. You have to love blogging and wholeheartedly believe in it. If you don’t love it, don’t do it. Find someone in your company who does. Here are 7 great habits of professional bloggers by ProBlogger.

A friend of mine sent me this inspiring animated gif yesterday. It perfectly sums up the attitude needed to maintain a successful blog. It feels pretty Copeland to me. Be sure to click on it to watch it.

11 Responses to “Blogging advice: Love it or leave it”

  1. Dennis van Lith May 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Brilliant!!!!
    Way to perk up the morning with hilarious insight!

  2. Shane May 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Scott Stratten made a good point on this topic at last year’s Social Media Camp. He argued that there is no magical frequency to maintain when posting on a blog. It should be done as often as the writer can post interesting content. (ie, better to post great content once a month than lukewarm content weekly).

    Malcolm Gladwell only posts a couple times a year on his blog and I subscribe to it, if only to keep up on the interesting debates that develop in the comments section.

  3. amyj May 18, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Ed McMahon was regular?!! Holy smokes. Johnny’s sidekick, cheque-presenter for Publisher’s Clearing House and two trips to drop the kids off at the swimming pool a day? Gosh. What a lucky guy.

  4. Barry Hill May 18, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Now THAT should be an HSBC ad!
    (It’s even got the right colour palette.)
    I know you agree with me Doug.

  5. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    > Thanks Dennis. Some mornings it just feels like that. πŸ™‚

    > I agree Shane. But Malcolm’s not using his blog as a primary vehicle to build his reputation and generate business. He doesn’t need to do it, so he doesn’t. Quality always trumps quantity, but lots of quality is even better.

    > I think he only dropped off the kids at the pool once a day Amy. He ate very little I understand.

    > You are too right Baz! Looks like some online ads I did for HSBC.

  6. Amy May 18, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I go through so many keyboards that way!

    Due to time constraints, lately I’ve only been able to post once or twice a week. I couldn’t imagine posting less often than that. But, I would never post just to have something new on my front page. I try to make it worth people’s while to read. It’s the least I can do!
    Now, there are some blogs that I follow that post two-three times a day, every day. I can’t keep up with them! I think that overkill is just as annoying as a long wait between posts.

  7. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    That’s an interesting comment Amy. Every Uniblogger walks a fine line between posting regularly and becoming obnoxious. Something we all need to be aware of! A drop in subscriptions usually tells the tale….

  8. :]ack May 18, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Is that your intern turning back into a zombie?

  9. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Well we do work the interns pretty hard here Jack. But not as hard as they work themselves. Messy business though. πŸ˜‰

  10. hitgirl May 19, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Doug, I updated my blog yesterday for the first time in a month. And for the last couple of months it’s been very intermittent. I had been a consistent blogger for a long while and this break certainly wasn’t the best thing to do to increase my readership. But, a whole bunch of life happened and I ain’t no machine! πŸ™‚

  11. dougbrowncreative May 19, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    If people find value in your blog Sandy, which I’m sure they do, i think they will hang on for a while. But with millions of blogs to consume, it’s easy to slip away into the abyss if you don’t keep the momentum going. I hope you’re back up Uniblogging again soon!

Leave a Reply

