Using Yelp to rid our streets of chickens

26 Jun

Man dressed like a chicken at the side of the roadDoes spying a man dressed in a chicken suit, jumping from foot to foot and waving an Uncle Earl’s Chicken House! sign at you from the curb make you think of the savoury aroma of a golden-skinned, grilled chicken crackling on a skewer over an open flame?

You bet it does.

That dancing chicken catches your eye and you start thinking DAYUM, I GOTTA GIT ME SOME OF THAT!

Your attention diverted, you drive your car into the cement truck that has come to stop at the red light you were about to drive through. But – and how wonderful is this – your last thought will be of the juices of a perfectly basted and broiled chicken running down your chin.

All because of the man in the chicken suit.

On the other hand.

If you refuse to look at the dancing chicken and instead pull your car over to the side of the road, whip out your mobile phone and consult Yelp for the best reviewed grilled chicken restaurant within a 500m radius, you will avoid driving into that cement truck, your life will be spared and you will doubtless have a superior chicken dinner experience because of it.

Everybody wins with Yelp.

4 Responses to “Using Yelp to rid our streets of chickens”

  1. Sandy Ibrahim June 27, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Is this a true story?

  2. Doug Brown June 27, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Just a social media parable Sandy. 😉

  3. andmerson June 27, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I think Yelp is great, but where it differs from our friendly poultry side-kick is that it doesn’t prompt you to eat.

    I have Yelp and Urban Spoon on my phone but I only find myself checking the apps when I’m with a group of friends and we are looking for a new place to eat.

    I even have the foursquare app that shows me lists of special offers to restaurants that are close to me. Unfortunately, I never think to open foursquare until I have already entered a restaurant and am checking in.

    These apps need to remind me that I’m hungry and then give me a tasty recommendation.

    Do you think we can get a man in a Yelp suit jumping foot to foot?

  4. Doug Brown June 27, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Not sure the sight of the dancing chicken actually does stimulate the appetite Andrea, anymore than inflatable balloons remind you to buy a new car. But I love the idea of a dancing chicken on an app designed to remind you it’s meal time!

Leave a Reply

