Danny’s Copeland – an intern’s perspective

20 Jul

A guest post by one of our #zombieintern competition winners and all round good egg: Danny Prew…

My graphic design schooling at Pacific Design Academy is done and I’m now one month into my internship with Copeland. What a busy month it’s been. Now that my initial nerves have settled (mostly in a bloody pile on the floor), allow me to take you on a tour of my daily routine from my first month at Copeland.

The first impression of the office is a welcome one for a young zombie: I’m greeted by three rabid dogs as they roam the hallways for scraps.

chico

In the first office to the right the nasal moaning of fellow Zombie interns can be heard. I was lucky that my first few weeks overlapped with two talented and equally gruesome marketing interns Brad Tribbeck and Bryan Dwyer. Although they’ve now moved on, their presence can still be felt—as a 5-foot reminder on the wall.

zombie

Onward to the creative department: an immensely inventive room that’s talent is matched only by its cryptic stench. Unfortunately I was placed at a desk still shrouded by the talented and energetic shadow of Copeland’s last design intern, Stephan Rosger. That might explain the more unusual zombie artifacts stored in and around my desk- like the squeeze bottle of fake blood and the set of blood-stained handcuffs (I wish I was making this up).

Danny's desk

The hoard that I’ve been job-shadowing includes: Senior Art Director Brad Felt: a walking (dead) Adobe software textbook, Art Director Michael Tension, who right now is literally reviewing his role in an independent zombie film called “Meat Market 2”, and Interactive Art Director Tom Hammarberg, resident web genius and international accent impressionist. I should note that my computer is strategically placed directly behind theirs, an ideal location for over-the-shoulder monitor drooling and technique lurking. By offering up a fresh set of eyes I’ve had the chance to drip some blood into some of Copeland’s client base. While most of my schooling has placed me in the realm of print media, I’ve been dabbling with my ever growing interest in interactive design by assisting with some layout and development for Copeland’s Facebook and LinkedIn pages.

My first month has been a very influential one acclimatizing to speedy deadlines, working in teams, and melding my design work into a marketing framework. Ah yes, marketing! My eyes have been opened to a world that I must admit, I hitherto knew very little about. To remedy this I’ve been spending as much time as possible at client meetings, creative briefs, and tutorials so that I can soak in as much knowledge as my hacked-up brain will allow.

It will be sad to leave, but I am ever grateful for the opportunities, insight and experiences that I’ve been given. Wait- I’ve still got another month in this hell hole! Somebody get me out!

You can follow me on twitter @DannyPrew or by checking out my website: www.dannyprew.com

6 Responses to “Danny’s Copeland – an intern’s perspective”

  1. Doug Brown July 20, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    A good first month for a guy who got through public school with a last name that rhymes with ‘poo’. We love having you Danny.

  2. Stephan Rosger July 20, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Good writing Danny. How do you fit words like “hitherto” in so seamlessly? Very eloquent indeed.

    I see you found the handcuffs? I almost had to file a report with my University when they took a handcuffing joke a bit too far and left me shackled up in the print room for almost 7 hours!

    Also, don’t let them treat your workspace like a dumping ground for bottles, cups, empty cookie bags etc.Stand up for yourself because when they smell weakness it only gets worse.

    Sounds like your doing well though, all the best in the next 4 weeks!

  3. Doug Brown July 20, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    That’s right Stephan. Copeland art directors smell weakness the way women smell desperation.

  4. Danny July 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Thanks for the advice Stephan! Tom’s actually got me paying $3 a day for use of his garbage can. But I can see through his stoic exterior, besides he just called me an “all around good egg”.

  5. Stephan Rosger July 20, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Tom had the exact same agreement with me, but just when you think things are going smooth and he starts liking you, BAM, he takes the garbage can away from you for no reason, even though you’ve paid for the day.

    Maybe I didn’t laugh on cue at one of his jokes like I was supposed to? I have no idea. Things haven’t been straight since then and he’s never explained to me what I did.

    Just don’t let your guard down is what I’m saying.

  6. Rhys Roderick July 22, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Danny used to be an all around good egg before this blood lust was infused upon him. I’d like to offer him a helping hand, but I would be afraid he would take it, literally. Best if we let Braingones be Braingones.

    RR

Leave a Reply

