Copeland Stupor Bowl XLVI Part. II

6 Feb

Jill’s Pick:



The vampire craze is a little past due. If Audi had run this ad last year during the Trueblood, Vampire Diaries and the Twilight hype they probably could have really cashed in. Not to say this is a bad ad, I actually really enjoyed it being a vampire lover myself.

In the ad, a guy is driving an Audi to a vampire party, he let’s us know he is a vampire by flashing his fangs. There are shots of the vampires partying under the full moon, enjoying blood bags, tree climbing, playing acoustic guitars, just as all vampires do. Problems arise when the Audi driving vampire pulls up to the party with the new LCD “daylight headlights” on and all of his pals are instantly incinerated by the “daylight.”

The song “The Killing Time” by Echo & the Bunnymen was a perfect fit for this vampire themed ad. And I really liked the addition of the #solongvampires hashtag, it shows that Audi is a forward thinking company and are really “with it.”

Overall it was a good ad and Audi’s new LCD “daylight headlights” could very well be the solution to the overpopulated bloodthirsty vampires!

Christie’s Pick:



This spot had it all: a Rocky-esque montage, zippy red car, relatable hero, the American dream, and promises of summer. Oh, and our hero is a chubby dog. I was excited to explore those ideas, and then I watched it again.

As I wondered what the title “The Dog Strikes Back” was all about, it played though until the awkward commercial-in-a-commercial ending I had conveniently missed the first time around. A little research later and it appears that the chubby dog is 2012’s answer to 2011’s cute Darth Vader kid. And that barking dog YouTube video that I ignored (but everyone went nuts for on Facebook) was the teaser for it.

The story stood on its own without the self-referential Star Wars ending. If I hadn’t watched it again (and again) I would have been so much more satisfied. The teaser with dogs barking iconic music from Star Wars had some relevance to the 2011 spot, and arguably some solid pop-culture cred, but this felt as cheap as “it was all a dream…”

2 Responses to “Copeland Stupor Bowl XLVI Part. II”

  1. Doug Brown February 6, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    Jill I have to agree with you that vampires are so 2010. Just as zombies jumped the shark in 2011. Look to skeletons to carry the rotting banner in 2012.

  2. Sam Brown (@samuelmbrown) February 7, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    I completely agree with Christie. The VW would have worked much better without the Darth Vader kid reference. The ad does a good job of saying “We’ve done our work, and now we’re back and better than ever” with the dog analogy, but as soon as it pulls the camera back and reveals the Darth Vader kid reference, I suspect it left a good portion of the audience confused.

    I’m a little on the fence about how effective the Audi ad was. One part of me says “Well, the ad says the company is forward thinking, uses the newest technologies etc”, but a larger part of me says “Who cares about headlights?” Still, I enjoyed the ad for its humour.

    Also, I accidentally posted anonymously in the previous posting, so that was me if you were curious 🙂

Leave a Reply

