Getting intimate with the classics

19 Mar

These are among the most beautiful examples of architectural photography I have ever seen. The photographer took full advantage of the movement, light, and natural construction materials used in the design.

When I fist saw the top image I was blown away by the design of the room, the beautiful skylights, and the afternoon sun streaming in.

Then I realized I was inside a violin. As a classically trained violinist I probably should have been quicker on the uptake.

These shots are part of a larger campaign for the Berlin Philharmonic, with the tagline “closer to the classical.” “Closer” is an understatement: we are looking at the inside of some of the most recognizable (from the outside) classical musical instruments.

Did you know what you were looking at right away?

(photos courtesy of ibelieveinadv.com)

6 Responses to “Getting intimate with the classics”

  1. Malcolm Scrimger March 19, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    I recognized them, but had to wrap my mind around how it was done. In genius.

  2. Christie March 19, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    Tiny but talented photographers? 😉

  3. henrytimisela March 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Great. Thank you for sharing!

  4. iPAS April 13, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find someone who really understands what they’re talking about on the web. You actually understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important. A lot more people really need to read this and understand this side of the story. I can’t believe you are not more popular because you certainly have the gift.

  5. dpqa May 7, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    I was told this webpage would make it all better. It did not. I am registering a complaint. I’m not entirely sure who you are or what you do. It could be amazing, but it wasn’t what I wanted when I googled “what will make it all better”.

  6. Christie May 7, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    I’m sorry that you were led here under the pretence that we could, in fact, make it all better. I hope you find exactly what you need.

Leave a Reply

